TTo support and encourage outstanding law enforcement work throughout the state and to recognize the important contributions of Florida's law enforcement professionals, the Florida Retail Federation has proudly sponsored its annual Law Enforcement Officer of the Year awards program since 1974.

The 44th Annual Law Enforcement Officer of the Year Awards Dinner will be held on Tuesday evening, October 23, 2018 at the Rosen Shingle Creek in Orlando, FL. The nomination period for the 2018 Law Enforcement Officer of the Year is not yet open, please check back for information on the 2018 nomination period and the nominating process.

The Law Enforcement Officer of the Year Awards Dinner (LEOY) is now part of FRF’s 2018 Fall Retail Summit which brings together business, retail and law enforcement leaders from around the state to discuss ways to support and protect our industry. In addition to the LEOY Dinner, we encourage you to join us for some of the other events taking place during the Summit including the prestigious Retailer of the Year Awards Luncheon and the popular Loss Prevention Conference. Please refer to the 2018 Fall Retail Summit Information box on the right to learn how you can get more involved with this event!  

For Law Enforcement Officer of the Year Awards Dinner Sponsorship information click here or contact Shelby Dotson at or 850-222-4082.

2017 Law Enforcement Officer of the Year Awards Winners

2017 WINNER: DETECTIVE SANDRA MARQUEZ Detective Marquez is a 10-year veteran of law enforcement and the Aventura Police Department. She has been instrumental in the success of their new economic crimes unit and having a positive impact on retail crimes and fraud investigations. Case examples during this year’s award period include: a self-initiated fraud investigation in which she worked with a regional loss prevention investigator to identify several store employees who were working to commit credit card fraud; used various techniques to identify a restaurant employee who was skimming customers’ credit cards; identified a multi-jurisdictional email phishing wire fraud ring that so far has uncovered more than $3 million in fraudulent wire transactions spanning multiple states; and an identity theft case involving medical benefits.

RUNNER-UP: DETECTIVE JOSEPH LESERRA Detective LeSerra is a senior detective in the Financial Crimes Unit, a Certified Fraud Examiner, and a Task Force Officer with the United States Internal Revenue Service. To date, Detective LeSerra is responsible for arresting various individuals who have cost their victims over one million dollars during the current award year and that number is still growing. He helped crack a Racketeering, Money Laundering and Organized Scheme to Defraud, Illegal Gambling and Illegal Lottery case that led to the discovery of public assistance fraud. The investigation resulted in over 130 defendants who were issued warrants in this case including the seizure of three trucks, more than 100 illegal gambling machines and approximately $270,000 in funds. Other cases included a prostitute who was extorting more than $400,000 from a victim, and a caretaker who was stealing funds from her elderly client. Volunteering in his community, Detective LeSerra coaches a youth flag football team and last year was team captain of the Leon County Sheriff’s Office American Heart Campaign.

“The men and women of Florida’s law enforcement community put their lives on the line each day to keep Florida’s 270,000 retailers, their employees, customers and merchandise safe,” said FRF President/CEO R. Scott Shalley. “We are thankful for their dedicated service to protecting all of us, and we are honored to be able to recognize both Detective Marquez and Detective LaSerra on behalf of the thousands of law enforcement professionals throughout our state.”

Detective Marquez will receive a cash award and a custom-crafted medallion and plaque, in addition to her name being added to an official plaque that lists each LEOY recipient since the program’s inception in 1974. Two officers were selected to receive Honorable Mentions and will be recognized locally. They are: Detective Lazaro Daniel of the Miami-Dade Police Department and Detective Ismael Hau of the Indian River County Sheriff’s Office.

The Law Enforcement of the Year Award Dinner is held in conjunction with the 2017 FRF Loss Prevention Conference taking place July 21. This annual event attracts close to 200 of the state’s loss prevention and law enforcement professionals gathered to learn the latest news, trends and technology to help them keep their businesses, employees and their customers safe. Both events are important parts of the 2017 Sunshine EXPO® taking place July 20-23, which also includes the popular EXPO Tradeshow, featuring 2,000 attendees and 350 exhibitors on July 23, as well as a full day of Education Sessions taking place July 22.

Past Law Enforcement Officer of the Year Award Winners

2017 LEOY Winner
Detective Sandra Marquez of the City of Aventura Police Department
Aventura Police
2016 LEOY Winner
Investigator Jayson Paul of the Volusia County Sheriff's Office
Volusia Sheriff
2015 LEOY Winner
Detective Jason Friday of the Sarasota County Sheriff’s Office
Sarasota Sheriff
2014 LEOY Winner
Detective Miguel Garcia of the Miami-Dade Police Department
Miami Dade Police
2013 LEOY Winner
Sgt. Richard Rossman of the Broward County Sheriff’s Office
Broward Sheriff
2012 LEOY Winner
Detective Sebastian Monros of the Miami-Dade Police Department
Miami Dade Police
2011 LEOY Winner
Detective Scott Frantz of the Daytona Beach Police Department
Daytona Beach Police
2010 LEOY Winner
Detective John Tritt of the Orlando, Florida Police Department
Orlando Police
2009 LEOY Winner
Special Agent (SA) Terry Corn of the FDLE
Florida Department of Law Enforcement
2008 LEOY Winner
Detective James Ostojic of the Polk County Sheriff’s Office
Polk Sheriff
2007 LEOY Winner
Detective Sgt. Daniel J. Carron of the Pinellas County Sheriff’s Office
Pinellas Sheriff
2006 LEOY Winner
2006 LEOY Winner
Detective Sgt. James R. Contento of the Tampa Police Department
Tampa Police